Lamentation and Laziness

Image

This ^ is one of the greatest killers of creativity and I try to avoid it like the plague. In writing and in roleplaying in general to harbour this anxiety is pointless. And to try and persistently help someone who is drowning like this will only result in your own projects stagnating.

I experienced this last year, hearing nothing but “no one is interested” or “nobody is getting involved in the plot” or “I do not have any interest in parts of the project”. Honestly, I am tired of hearing whining. This is a hobby, a creative one, and one you can approach in variety of ways, so chill the fuck out and put it in perspective. Organise yourself like any normal person does and allocate time to your interests. If you cannot naturally balance your life then take control of it. This includes the discipline it takes to write!

So many overlook how much like hard work writing and finishing a project truly is. For me this is a part of the thrill! The challenge that inspires me.

Alexander Chee wrote;

Talent isn’t enough, she had told us. Writing is work. Anyone can do this, anyone can learn to do this. It’s not rocket science, it’s habits of mind and habits of work. I started with people much more talented than me, she said, and they’re dead or in jail or not writing. The difference between myself and them is that I’m writing.

This is what I have been saying for twenty years! If you are not prepared to work hard and to learn and improve and experiment then get another hobby and try for another career path. I have put away the pie in the sky dreams of my teen years and am realistic. I enjoy writing because it indulges my creative and logical side, I am not trying to make a living off of it. However, I still want to be good at it. So the next time someone tells me I am taking this, roleplay or writing, too seriously I will tell them to stop being a flake, stop whining, and do something productive and fun with their lives. They will be a better person for it.

Leave a Reply

