NaNoWriMo: 50K done, still not “done”!

NaNoWriMo Winners Certificate

So yes, I “won”! However, I am not done with the novel. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am about… half way, maybe? I know the purpose is to write a novel in 50K words but I sorta got carried away. ๐Ÿ˜› I mean, I wanted a good smut novel so I have no idea if this is too long or what? I guess I shall find out when I edit and try to sell it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyhoo, here are my NaNo stats for my novel, “Enslaved”:ย http://nanowrimo.org/participants/clairebfield/novels/enslaved-646278/stats

I am keeping that title I think, it has grown on me.

All in all I have loved this challenge and I think I have rediscovered the novelist in me, which is a huuuuge plus. It’s time to write no matter if I get published, that is no longer my goal (though Enslaved is the one I am gonna try and sell, just because I am curious!). The joy of writing in this manner has been rekindled and I forgot how much I missed writing chapters and being in complete control of everything. Yes, I shall edit and listen to proof readers and whatnot, but the process is my own and I have so little I am in control of, this is kinda like a new lease of life!

So thank you NaNo! After years of skepticism I finally found a use for it for me, and not because others thoughts I should do it. I am stubborn like that. I have to do things for me and to find my own motivation and drive. ย Next year I plan on finishing the novel in December, so roll on 2015!!!

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: 50K done, still not “done”!

  1. Congrats on winning NaNoWriMo and good luck finishing your novel! I’ve still got a bit of work left to finish my manuscript as well. Also, congrats on rediscovering your inner novelist. That’s the best victory of all!

    • Ooooh, well done to you too! What kind of novel are you writing?

      And yes, I am very psyched about finding my motivation again, and it’s definitely thanks to NaNo. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Thank you! My novel is a bit of a stylistic hodgepodge right now–I’m calling it dystopian steampunk. I think it’s shaping up to be pretty cool. Of course, I am biased lol.

      • Steampunk dystopia sounds fab! I am making a Steampunk roleplay forum atm, getting original art and web designers for it and everything. I love my hobby! Is this your first NaNo or are you a veteran? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Me too! It’s been SO much fun!!! I was quite wary of it before, but doing it for me and not because others thought I should was definitely the best way to approach it. ๐Ÿ˜€ How long do you think your novel will end up being then? And did you create an entire world or is the story set in one area? What kind of plot is it?

      • I agree. If you’re not writing for you, then it won’t be nearly as rewarding and you will be less likely to stick with it.

        I believe my novel will be roughly 75,000 words. It is book one in a six book series, so even though it is almost done, I still have a lot of work left to do!

        Right now, my story is set in one specific area, about the size of a city. Since it’s a bit post-apocalyptic, my characters don’t know if the rest of the world is still out there. If I decide to continue the books after this original six, I will expand into the rest of the world. But, for now, it’s pretty isolated.

        As for the plot, the main thread is a plot (no pun intended) for my main character to kill the king and avenge her father’s death. However, it has a strong romantic subplot.

        What about you? What is your novel like and what are your plans for it?

      • That plot development makes sense to me, especially for your genre. I suppose the more the characters discover of the world the more the reader does as well? How do you deal with romance plots, of any kind? I find it difficult to write them if the romance is pre-planned, the relationships that just evolve while I write feel better to me.

        My novel is purely an experiment. I am trying a new genre and attempting to write smut for selling. I enjoy whatever I write and people keep harping on at me to write literotica (I’ve already been paid for writing it, but privately, nothing published) so I figured it’s time to put my smut to the test. The problem is, most smut novels seem short… mine is not. I kinda got carried away with the story. Of dear. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Is it a good or bad thing that we are not done with the story? I know in the editing process it will be trimmed, but also perhaps expanded. My worry is that for my genre it’s too long. >_>

      • Yeah, I might have to make it a three parter… get people hooked then bring out the other parts later. Not a bad thing if I am selling on Amazon I suppose. ๐Ÿ˜› What type of novel is your NaNo?

      • I am trying to have romance but I really do not like one of the couples… they are so bland. Eck.

        And yes, three books with people paying is certainly better, assuming they do -actually- pay. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

