A Flight of Fancy

Definitions: a flight of fancy — flight-of-fancy

flight of fancy

An unrealistic idea or fantastic notion, a pipe dream. For example, She engaged in flights of fancy, such as owning a million-dollar house. This idiom uses flight in the sense of “a soaring of the imagination,” a usage dating from the mid-1600s.

DAI

For me, someone who has a “flight of fancy” has a great idea, perhaps even begins it. However, because of how flaky they are and how they lie to others and even themselves about their ability to follow through with said – often collaborative – idea they let people down, move on and even destroy said project. They do this and they do not care, they simply pick up the toy and then toss it away when they are no longer interested, unable to meet the standard required, and incapable of following through.

These people infuriate me and though I would love to out them for the frauds that they are instead I look back at the last two years and see how much I have done. I have been as a sick as a dog and I have created and worked and have finished things.

For all the people who have proven wretched, or a disappointment, or simply unreliable I have met a few whose attributes far outweigh the negatives of those others. These few more than make up for the idiots I’ve been unfortunate to cross. I have friends online whom I have known for ten years as well as other people I email and speak to. People I still write with. People who have supported me through inability to write, through NaNo, as proof readers and others who are simply interested in what I write. I have no idea what it is others (maybe you!) enjoy about my writing, but one thing you can be assured of – I do not have flights of fancy. I edit and evolve my ideas whilst thinking of them, I brainstorm and I am willing to bend to make an idea work for more than just myself! I love to collaborate and though I hope to never meet another… flighty writer or RPer, I know I will, I just hope I can spot them sooner so I waste less time on people who are not interested in seeing things through.

Leave a Reply

